A Brief History...

At the end of the eighteenth century, the growing number of Acadians residing in Bathurst began to acquire land in the neighboring region which the natives called 'Petit Nipisiguit' (Small Nipisiguit). Today known as the Town of Beresford.

Beresford was named after the English lord, William Carr Beresford, who the province wished to honor in 1814 when the new civil parish was established.

On July 1st, 1967, as Canada celebrated 100 years of Confederation, Beresford was incorporated as a village. In 1984, Beresford became the 28th town of the province of New Brunswick.

 Vue aérienne

The population of approximately 4200 is mostly made of up French-Acadians. However, the majority of our residents are fluent in both official languages of Canada.

Located on the shores of the 'Baie des Chaleurs', Beresford has beautiful beaches and the people are as warm and friendly.

Our Industrial Park; The Cleo-Morrison Industrial Park is located on Acadie Street which crosses Highway #11 at Exit 318. The town welcomes all small and medium size businesses to check out this ideal location. This Park has land at excellent prices, is connected to water and sewage services, is centrally located within the Chaleur Region and has one of the quickest and easiest accesses to and from Highway #11.

Beresford has an arena (Réal-Boudreau Centre), a terrific Beach Park with wonderful infrastructure, several parks for children, softball fields, a baseball diamond and a beach volleyball court.  Our local Sport Association is an important contributor, and owner of some of these assets including the Sportek Curling Club.

In 2011, we are proud to say our Town is still progressing and our dynamic nature showcases the core of our community spirit towards continued development.